Tenant Evictions in Biloxi, Mississippi: A Guide for Landlords

Tenant Evictions in Biloxi, Mississippi: A Guide for Landlords

In recent years, the U.S. Administration has delivered over 8 million payments to assist renters with rent payments and utility bills, but that's still not enough to buffer many tenants against the ever-increasing cost of living.

Most landlords never have to deal with the unpleasant task of having to evict tenants, but if you do end up in this situation, you must go about it in the correct way or risk falling foul of the law.

Read on to learn what you need to know about tenant evictions in Biloxi, Mississippi.

Valid Reasons for Tenant Evictions in Mississippi

Under Mississippi law, landlords may only evict tenants subject to certain criteria. These are:

Non-Payment of Rent

Non-payment of rent is the most widespread reason for evictions in the USA. According to Census data, over 5.8 million American households were behind on their rent in 2022.

In Mississippi, rent is considered late if it isn't paid one day after the agreed date unless the lease specifically indicates a grace period. If your tenants consistently pay late, you must deliver a 3-day notice-to-pay form before you can evict them.

This gives them three days to pay their rent in full or vacate the property.

Breach of the Lease Agreement

Both landlords and tenants must uphold their side of the lease agreement. If the tenant does not comply with the terms of their lease, the landlord must issue a 14-day notice to quit form.

This allows the tenant 14 days to rectify the breach or vacate the property. Some examples of lease infringements include:

  • Keeping pets in a no-pet property
  • Smoking
  • Significant property damages
  • Illegal activities on site

Health or Safety Violations

If a tenant violates any of the state's health, safety, building, and housing codes, a landlord may evict them immediately. They aren't obliged to give them any notice or opportunity to remedy the situation.

Examples of these violations include neglecting to remove trash or damaging the plumbing or electrical features of the building.

Non-Renewal of the Lease Agreement

If a tenant does not renew their lease but remains on the property, a landlord must provide them with a 4- or 30-day notice to quit. The length of the notice depends on the type of lease that was in place.

The Tenant Eviction Procedure in Mississippi

The procedure for rental evictions in Mississippi may vary from county to county. It usually includes the following steps:

  1. Filing a complaint with the court
  2. Delivery of a summons for the eviction hearing
  3. The eviction hearing

At the hearing, the judge delivers their verdict, and if they rule in favor of the landlord, the county sheriff issues the tenant a notice to vacate.

Ease the Burdens of Tenant Eviction in Biloxi, Mississippi

No landlord wants to undergo unpleasant tenant evictions, but it pays to protect yourself against this eventuality. PMi Biloxi can help you ease the financial burden associated with evictions and provide expert landlord advice if you need to pursue this route.

Sign up for our eviction protection plan as part of your property management contract, and we'll help you avoid the pitfalls of evictions and even assist you with some of the legal fees involved.

Browse our blog for more landlord tips, and get in touch to experience expert assistance with Biloxi property management.